Diner bij/met Elkaar

It’s september!

The day before yesterday I woke up with the sound of rain and a view of cloudy skies (still august here). It was my parents 29th wedding anniversary so it was a happy day nonetheless. First things first, off to the beach for work. After a day of making “let’s ignore this shitty weather by drinking complicated hot drinks and go to the beach anyways” kind of orders, I called it a day and went home. In a hurry and full sunshine I biked home (hot) and quickly changed into my pretty black ‘n white dress and my golden heels. Then me and my sister headed to Amsterdam for dinner at Elkaar with our parents.

2013-08-31 18.06.03

They were sipping on their anniversary wine at the restaurant terrace when we arrived. After handing them the bouquet we got them we went inside and toasted on many more years together. Then it started, and I wish it’d never end.

An amuse to start with, bisque with a raw herring crostini

Amuse

This was followed by a combination of marinated Irish salmon and house smoked salmon and cucumber canneloni, with squid ink mayonnaise

Voor

The main course I liked less of all, but mostly because I’m not so big on meat. It tasted good though. It was a bavette of veal, with ratatouille, baked shiitake and patatoemousseline with a Madeire gravy. Being al into the whole food thing made me forget to take pictures of this combo.

We finished the whole thing off with something I’d been looking forward to for a few weeks. Chocolate mousse, and a lot of it. This was actually my favorite course that night.

Dark chocolate mousse with crispy caramelized crushed nuts, strawberries, blueberries and raspberries with pistacio ice cream

Dessert1

I tried to eat as slow as I could on that one, it was so så sø good! But when we decided to have some coffee/tea/dessertwine after that, we got a little extra miniature dessert thingies to make the sudden stop of chocolate flavour a bit more bearable.

Miniature almond thingie, Madeleine and some white chocolatty nutty thing

Dessert

Being someone who always wanted to eat at a restaurant with a Michelin star, or at least something close to it, this was a really fun experience for me! I truly loved this dinner both because of the people I was with but also because of the wonderful food and atmosphere at Elkaar.

Any tips on restaurants like this?

 Dani

One thought on “Diner bij/met Elkaar

Leave a Reply

