I promise myself…

The other day I found myself drowning in the tons of inspirational blogs I follow. This has gotten a hell of a lot easier since I discovered Bloglovin, but it also makes it a hell of a lot more addictive to stay up to date! Strange though, how the lives of others seem so much more interesting to read about than to just live and enjoy your own life. The thing is that in each blog I read there is something I recognize in the way I am, was or am aspiring to be. By reading them I’m discovering more aspects that I’m passionate about, interested in or have lost interest in. They show me new insights and things to explore, and that’s why I’m learning so much from reading them. I can read loads of  books about world-known facts (that make me seem smart when I bring them up in conversations) or fictional books (because they let me pretend Harry Potter is actually possible), but I can also read about the day to day lives of several individuals living in this very world (instead of Hogwarts-wizardry world), and pick up some of the wisdom that they’ve gathered through their experiences.

But this wasn’t the point I wanted to make when I started rambling about blogs. While reading all the million blogs I came across some inspiring quotes that I’ve written down for myself to remember. Since my glass is usually half-empty and I really want to change that, I thought it’d be best to read them over and over again until they become part of who I am, instead of what I aspire to be. Ok, enough with my words and on with the wise words.

“The power is in you. The answer is in you. And you are the answer to all your searches: you are the goal. You are the answer. It’s never outside.”
– Eckhart Tolle

“What we perceive as a failure may simply be our inner being’s way of telling us that we are ready to move to a new level of growth.”
– Anne Wilson Schaef

“There are two mistakes one can make along the road to truth…
Not going all the way, and not starting.” 

– Buddha

“Because one believes in oneself, one doesn’t try to convince others.
Because one is content with oneself, one doesn’t need others’ approval.
Because one accepts oneself, the whole world accepts him or her.”
– Lao Tzu

The funny thing is that while reading these quotes and realizing just how true they were, reading them felt like re-reading them. As if their knowledge already existed in my mind, but just needed a little recall to be remembered again. I think that kind of wisdom exists on a subconscious level, that can be added to your consciousness by paying attention to it. This can be done in an endless variety of ways, like reading a quote or a a book, talking to someone (anyone) or just by experiences you go through in your daily life. For me it works to keep this kind of wisdom close on the surface where I can actually see it, and be reminded of it’s truth over and over again. They convince me to focus and have faith in positive rather than negative feelings and thoughts. A little less worry and a little more fun! Good thing there is a trip to Bali in the summer to focus on, the island of smiles. I’m already reading up on it, cannot wait for all the experiences that are waiting for me there…

I ended my blogtour that day with a very inspirational list of promises one should make to oneself, or in this case; I should make to myself. A few months ago I came across mindbodygreen.com for the first time via a Facebook connection. Soon enough it became a place where I could read one article after another and another and yet one more. Every article leaves you hungry for more information about a healthy body and mind. The article I’m referring to left me with more than just the usual hunger for more wise words, it really got me thinking. And that is why I wanted to share it here, and go over these wonderful words once more.

I promise myself

To be so strong that nothing can disturb my peace of mind.
To talk health, happiness, and prosperity to every person I meet.
To make all my friends feel that there is something worthwile in them.
To look at the sunny side of everything and make my optimism come true.
To think only of the best, to work only for the best and to expect only the best.
To be just as enthusiastic about the success of ofthers as I am about my own.
To forget the mistakes of the past and press on to the greater achievements of the future.
To wear a cheerful expression at all times and give a  smile to every living creature I meet.
To give so much time to improving myself that I have no time to criticize others.
To be too large for worry, too noble for anger, too strong for fear, and too happy to permit the presence of trouble.
To think well of myself and to proclaim this fact to the world, not in loud words, but in great deeds.
To live in the faith that the whole world is on my side, so long as I am true to the best that is in me.

– Christian D. Larson

/ Dani

Leave a Reply

